Jamaica Not Included in 5 Caribbean Countries Allowed to Travel to Canada Visa-Free

Five Caribbean nations that are members of CARICOM have joined the list of 13 countries that will receive visa-free travel under the Canadian visa-free regime. According to reports, eligible candidates are only required to obtain an electronic travel authorization (ETA) before entering Canada by air.

Antigua and Barbuda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, and Trinidad and Tobago are among the Caribbean nations that are included on the list. Several other countries from around the globe complete the list of visa-free travel, including Argentina, Costa Rica, Morocco, Panama, Philippines, Seychelles, Thailand, and Uruguay.

It is important to note that the new regime is only applicable to travellers who have held a valid Canadian visa within the past ten years or a valid nonimmigrant visa from the US. Sean Fraser, Canadian Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, disclosed the decision on Tuesday.

Travellers from the Caribbean as well as the other countries listed can apply for an eTA with only a valid passport, a credit card, an email address, and internet access Sean Fraser explained.

RELATED: Jamaican Citizen Requests Kingston’s U.S Embassy Remove LGBTQ Flag

As of the date of announcement (6 June 2023), qualified travellers from the 13 countries on the list will be eligible to take advantage of the new changes.

RELATED: Jamaica Listed 55th World Most Miserable Country

RELATED: Jamaica Owes The Most Money To IMF in The Caribbean

Made in Jamaica 🇯🇲 Yardhype.com website Since 2012 © YARDHYPE 2011-24