Will Smith Quits The Academy

Saturday, April 2, 2022, 10:10 AM

After some days of facing heat from slapping Chris Rock, Will Smith has sent in his resignation to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

 In a letter sent to Academy’s disciplinary committee, Will acknowledged that his behaviour was “shocking, painful, and inexcusable” and wrote that he will accept any consequence the Academy deems befitting for his actions. He also acknowledged the pain he brought to Chris Rock and his family, friends of his own and persons who were present at the Oscars and home.


Will also added that he was “heartbroken” for everything that happened including betraying the Academy’s trust and ruining the celebration for the other nominees and winners.

He also continued by saying, “I want to put the focus back on those who deserve attention for their achievements and allow the Academy to get back to the incredible work it does to support creativity and artistry in film. So, I am resigning from membership in the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences and will accept any further consequences the board deems appropriate. Change takes time and I am committed to doing the work to ensure that I never again allow violence to overtake reason.”

With his resignation accepted, Academy president David Rubin stated, “We have received and accepted Mr. Will Smith’s immediate resignation from the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. We will continue to move forward with our disciplinary proceedings against Mr. Smith for violations of the Academy’s Standards of Conduct, in advance of our next scheduled board meeting on April 18.”

The consequences are expected to be revealed within a few weeks when the Academy hands down its disciplinary decision.

RELATED: Will Smith Apologizes To Chris Rock

RELATED: Jada Pinkett Smith Laughs After Will Smith Slapped Chris Rock In New Video

RELATED: Chris Rock Talks On ‘The Slap’ From Will Smith “I’m still kind of processing what happened”

Made in Jamaica 🇯🇲 Yardhype.com website Since 2012 © YARDHYPE 2011-24