Referee Admits Error During Argentina vs France Final

Szymon Marciniak conceded that his performance in the just concluded 2022 World Cup Final between Argentina and France was not flawless. The Polish referee, who has played for Poland and Germany in the past, acknowledged one blunder.

After a thrilling game of football, La Albiceleste managed to edge out Les Bleus on penalties, despite Kylian Mbappe having scored a hat trick in the final minutes of the contest to encourage the french back into the game.


Marciniak was heavily criticized by the French sports newspaper L’Equipe for two crucial decisions he made in the World Cup final that cost the French the title. A petition was set up on a French website to demand a replay of the final because Marciniak was perceived to have made mistakes leading up to both of Argentina’s goals in normal time.

Since the petition has been made available to the public, more than 220,000 signatures have been collected.

It has since been reported that the referee believes he made mistakes in the final and has since come forward to admit that.

“Of course, there were mistakes in this final,” the 41-year-old referee told Sport.PL after the match.

He continues, “I interrupted the French counter-attack after a bad tackle by (Argentina’s) Marcos Acuna.”

He detailed that it was not easy and that such a mistake seems unavoidable, however, In the end, there was no serious mistake made in the course of the match.

Made in Jamaica 🇯🇲 website Since 2012 © YARDHYPE 2011-24