Bob Marley, Louise Bennett-Coverley And Marcus Garvey Will Be Awarded The Diamond Jubilee Awards 2022

In celebration of Jamaica’s 60th year of independence, some of the country’s most prolific and iconic names will be honoured at the Jamaica Reggae Industry Association’s (JaRIA) 2022 Honour Awards. The launch of the JaRIA was held at the Footprints Café on Belmont Road, Kingston on Sunday, February 27, 2022.

This year, three persons will be awarded the Diamond Jubilee Awards posthumously for their significant contribution to Jamaican music and culture across the world. The awardees to be honoured are Jamaica’s pioneer of Reggae music Bob Marley, activist and the first National Hero of Jamaica Marcus Mosiah Garvey and renowned folklorist, Louise Bennett-Coverley otherwise known as “Miss Lou”.


Other artistes who will be recognized posthumously for their contribution to Reggae music are Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry and Hopeton Lewis.

The Lifetime Achievement Award will be awarded to Pama Records, a record label that was most popular in the 1960s and 1970s for bringing Jamaican music and Reggae to the UK charts. Additionally, Winford Williams, host of the acclaimed television show OnStage TV, Nadine Blair of Love 101 FM, Riddim Magazine and will also be recognized for their contribution to the genre.

In the category of Breakthrough Artiste and Song of the Year, the awardee will be chosen by the public by casting their vote on JaRIA website. However, for the breakthrough artiste of the year, the nominees are Moyann, Skillibeng, Diyani, Yaksta, Joby Jay, and Nation Boss.

Spice featuring Shaggy and Sean Paul’s song titled “Go Down Deh”, Shenseea’s song titled “Run Run” Yaksta’s song titled “Ambition” Koffee’s song titled “West Indies”, Jahvinci’s song titled “Virgin” and Laa Lee’s song titled “Dirt Bounce” are nominated in the category for Song of the Year.

For the Male Icon category, Reggae singers Barrington Levy and the late Jacob Miller will be recognized, while, JC Lodge will receive the Female Icon award and the Abyssinians will be honoured with the Icon Award for duo or group.

A 1980’s UK-based band called Ruff Cutt will be honoured for its contribution to the Reggae industry. Also, guitarist Earl ‘Chinna’ Smith will be honoured for his exceptional impact in the field of mentorship in the Reggae industry.

Producers Tony Kelly and Neil ‘Mad Professor’ Fraser will be awarded for their exceptional contribution to the Reggae industry, while producer Mikie Bennett will be recognized for his contribution to the music as a songwriter.

For contribution to the field of audio engineering, Rohan Dwyer and Paul Barclay will be recognized, along with promoter Linval Gibbons who will receive an award for his annual stage show, Teen Splash.

Glacia Robinson and Jermaine Edwards will be receiving awards for their contribution to the genre, Gospel. Other awardees include instrumentalists David Madden and Hux Brown, who will be recognized for their contribution to the industry and sound systems The Mighty Crown and Lloyd Matador.

Neville Garrick will receive the Gregory Isaacs Foundation award for his work in artistry which includes some of the most iconic album covers for music legend, Bob Marley.

The awards are usually conferred in the Reggae month, however, no official date has been announced for the Jamaica Reggae Industry Association’s (JaRIA) 2022 Honour Awards as yet.

RELATED: WATCH: Bob Marley’s Grandson, The Star Of His Birthday Concert

RELATED: Kingsley Ben-Adir Chosen To Play Role Of Bob Marley In Upcoming Biopic

RELATED: Ky-mani Thinks One Of His Brothers Should Have Gotten Lead Role In Bob Marley Film

Made in Jamaica 🇯🇲 website Since 2012 © YARDHYPE 2011-24